RSS

God Is

05 Jan

Plane_butterfly

(Elihu speaking to Job): “Surely you (Job) have spoken in my hearing, And I have heard the sound of your words, (saying): ‘I am pure, without transgression; I am innocent and there is no guilt in me.’ Behold, He (God) invents pretexts against me; He counts me as His enemy. ‘He puts my feet in the stocks; He watches all my paths.’  –Behold, let me tell you, you are not right in this, For God is greater than man.” (Job 33:8-12 NAS77)

A thought occurred to me earlier today, pretty much out of the blue. It’s basically this: If there is an invisible, spiritual/supernatural realm, distinct from the natural/physical world, why do we expect the supernatural to follow the very same “rules” as the natural world? If God and the spiritual realm are truly different, we should actually expect them to not operate the same way as the natural realm does. Therefore, we shouldn’t be surprised or even perplexed if the spiritual realm doesn’t follow laws or a logical “cause and effect” relationship like things do in the physical world.

Let’s remember that God isn’t a man, and he doesn’t have a human mind or brain like you and I do. According to the new testament scriptures in the Bible, there are three “God is ____” statements that are true: God is light, God is the Spirit, and God is love.1

I know many are struggling to see God or understand Him, especially in the midst of doubts and hardships of all kinds. I guess what I’m getting at is to remind us that God’s thoughts and ways are higher than ours, so not understanding His ways doesn’t mean He isn’t real or doesn’t care. Because He operates on a different level than our natural minds and natural world do, His ways and the ways of the spiritual world in general won’t often make sense to our natural minds and logic.

I DO believe God is good, and I DO believe His nature is love and light and spirit. Let’s get in tune with Him, learn to commune with Him “in the spirit” like John and Paul and Peter (and so many others) have, instead of wasting time waiting for the spiritual realm to conform to our natural desires and expectations (that will be a LONG wait). God doesn’t cater to OUR expectations or even OUR desires, and He never will. God simply IS, and ONLY when and to the extent that His spirit enables us to share in His mind and view, can we begin to know and understand Him. Don’t be discouraged, keep seeking and don’t be afraid of new territory – that may be where God is.

1. 1 John 1:5 , John 4:24, 1 John 4:8

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “God Is

  1. E. Gosa

    January 6, 2015 at 5:28 am

    I understand. I’m trying to get there.

     
    • firstthekingdom

      January 6, 2015 at 11:45 am

      We all are. I don’t think it’s so much a matter of getting there as much as it is a matter of getting rid of the blindness and lies that cover what is already there. It’s a struggle at times.

       
  2. g

    January 6, 2015 at 12:30 pm

    i liked th v much…too bad theres not a “love love love this” button…lolol

    seriously…th Lord been always spezkin to me abt how He called His ppl outta th world/egypt/babylon…AND…He do so without their approval help or consent….He has full authority to provide fa us according to riches in Christ Jesus and not by th world way…

    we need food…we pray fa jobs income social services etc…

    but He is able to provide fa us without all that…

    ppl been thankin God fa jobs and mortgages and all manner of wordly ways of provisiin…but Christ was on th shore with fish and nobody but His disciples saw or heard Him…and they were out tryna get fish…meantime Christ on th shore WIT fish…

    love that…

    He been callin me outta all thangs and risin ip in those llaces…and it dont be by adam ways and it dont need adam approval…and Christ is able to keep us and protect us th whole time…

    i have learned and th Lord keepin my eyes on Him and not expectin my life to find provision by caesar ways…but to be fully kept by th Lord…

    th ways of th Lord n His thoughts are higher than ours yet n still they are met wit contempt and ridiculed…still we have His promise that He keeps us and not we ourself…

    btw…love ur blog but dont slways have moments to say so or comment…thx fa all encouragement to walk in truth and keep our eyes on th Lord…

     
    • firstthekingdom

      January 7, 2015 at 11:15 am

      Thank you, g. You make some really good points, too. I like that about Christ already having fish, but they didn’t notice him because they were fishing 🙂 God bless you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Immortality Road

Going Out to the Sons and Daughters of God

New Mystic Mother

A Mother :: Falling Into the Hands of Grace :: The Journey

Entering the Promised Land

by walking in the Spirit

SEE withyour HEART

I am a citizen of heaven...Phil 3:20

Spiritual Abuse Sanctuary

Exposing Spiritual Abuse

The Straight Way Church Blog

Making the Way straight for the scattered Remnant of God

Sons Of Issachar

Understanding the times

Done with Religion

Written by Jim Gordon - Living with God Outside the Walls of Religion

plucked out of the fire

Passionate about Christ being revealed in and through his people!

Ephesians 4

For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ.

My utmost 4 His garbage can

we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus. 2 Cor. 4:5

The Voice of One

To know and preach nothing but Christ....

notesfromthebridge

Most would rather endure comfortable bondage, than experience uneasy freedom

Escape to Reality

Exploring the wide open spaces of God's amazing grace

Life of Yan ♥

My Name is Yanira Vargas. I am a Senior at Washington State University. I love all things expression and creative. I was in a relationship with my childhood best friend of 4 years, who happens to have had passed away with stage 3 brain cancer. I still believe in God, and in the beauty of mircles. Join me and embark on this journey with me.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

