RSS

Recommendations

01 Mar

I thought in this post I’d change the format a bit and share some links to various ministries, websites and people that have edified and challenged me.  I hope they will be a blessing to you also.  We are all of one body if we are of the faith of Jesus Christ, so if one part is edified, the body is edified.  God bless you.

Dan Gochnour at Scent of Water Ministries:

Dan is one of the only people that I without hesitation would call a prophet.  I have been greatly blessed and edified by his teachings, and really stretched and challenged to go deeper with God and seek Him with no selfish motive.  Some concepts he’s helped me form are the distinction of spirit and soul, truth as a path that is to be followed, truth as the present voice of God, sonship vs. servanthood, sin awareness vs. God awareness, the kingdom mentality of Jesus Christ, the perils of self-focused religion, the need to hear the voice of Jesus Christ, man having been given authority on earth, Jesus Christ as a warrior, true humility in God’s eyes, salvation as freedom from self-influence, self vs. God, looking deeper at the words and meaning of scripture, good and evil in light of the kingdom, and lots more I can’t think of off the top of my head.  This blog is actually named after one of his teachings.  If you want to hear his current sermons, please let me know in a comment or e-mail at immaculated.r@gmail.com and I’ll get you on the free CD mailing list in which you can get his most recent sermons mailed to your house for free.  He doesn’t have a facebook or personally get involved much in self-promotion.  Dan, I honor you and thank you for your service to the Lord.

Links (I don’t think Dan himself is involved in any of these, but you can hear his preaching through about September 2012 at the first link below):

HallVWorthington:

I don’t know a lot about this person or ministry, but it’s still been very challenging to me.  From what I know, Hall V. Worthington is a man who, as many of us, was seeking truth and his search led him outside of mainstream Christianity.  He came across the writings of George Fox and other of the early “Quakers,” which he found to be very edifying and sound both scripturally and in spirit.  Much of his HUGE website consists of teachings of the early Quakers (which are amazing), but much of it is also his own teachings and “words” he says he was given directly from Jesus Christ.  Of particular interest to me have been the idea of the word of God as God’s voice, the need for silence to listen for this voice, and the need to be taught by Jesus Christ himself, not any man.  The teachings on purification from sin are very challenging, although I’m not sure I agree with them totally.  I’m still chewing on some of them.

Steve Bray

I don’t know a lot about this brother either, and am told he died in 2003.  He appears to have been a simple, humble brother who wanted truths of the deeper Christian life to be made available to all believers.  I have found his teachings on the believer’s union with Christ, the divine life that we are to live by, etc. to be very enlightening and encouraging.  Highly recommended.

Phil Drysdale:

I recently came across this person and ministry.  Seems to emphasize grace and viewing oneself in light of the freedom and purification of the gospel.  Also teaches against the deception and inadequacy of religion and works.  I don’t know too much about it, but have found some of it to be very edifying.

Rory Moore/Prepare His Way:

I have known Rory “at a distance” for quite a while, and have been blessed by his ministry on facebook.  We have had some facebook discussions, and he has always been gracious.  There are some things I distinctly disagree with him on, but that’s not the focus here.  I have found his teachings on the errors of tithing, errors of the modern pastorate, church government, marital headship and unity, and some prophetic words to be very good.  I’d also recommend adding him on facebook.  He lives in California.

Watchman Nee:

Again, I don’t agree with everything he teaches, but I have been very edified, challenged, and informed by many of his teachings, and I believe his love for the Lord was true.  He is a famous minister, and you can easily find many of his works and biographies of his life quite easily online or in bookstores.

A Wilderness Voice

From what I know, this is a ministry of two friends and brothers in Christ, who simply share truth as God has given it to them.  Their writings have been very enlightening for me, although there are several I still haven’t read.  Their site links to other ministries and writers as well.  They seem to focus on being free from “institutional” Christianity and the deeper truths of the life of a disciple.

  • Awildernessvoice.com

Feel free to share more if you know of them.  God bless you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 1, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Immortality Road

Going Out to the Sons and Daughters of God

New Mystic Mother

A Mother :: Falling Into the Hands of Grace :: The Journey

Entering the Promised Land

by walking in the Spirit

SEE withyour HEART

I am a citizen of heaven...Phil 3:20

Spiritual Abuse Sanctuary

Exposing Spiritual Abuse

The Straight Way Church Blog

Making the Way straight for the scattered Remnant of God

Sons Of Issachar

Understanding the times

Done with Religion

Living with God Outside the Walls of Religion

plucked out of the fire

Passionate about Christ being revealed in and through his people!

Ephesians 4

For the perfecting of the saints, for the work of the ministry, for the edifying of the body of Christ.

My utmost 4 His garbage can

we preach not ourselves, but Christ Jesus. 2 Cor. 4:5

The Voice of One

To know and preach nothing but Christ....

notesfromthebridge

Most would rather endure comfortable bondage, than experience uneasy freedom

Escape to Reality

Exploring the wide open spaces of God's amazing grace

Life of Yan ♥

My Name is Yanira Vargas. I am a Senior at Washington State University. I love all things expression and creative. I was in a relationship with my childhood best friend of 4 years, who happens to have had passed away with stage 3 brain cancer. I still believe in God, and in the beauty of mircles. Join me and embark on this journey with me.

The Matt Walsh Blog

Absolute Truths (and alpaca grooming tips)

